Chapter – 67

The following day……



The gentle evening breeze brushes against my skin, as the horses trot along happily down the grassy meadow. I rub the sleep from my eyes, and notice Lestat nestled next to me holding me close to him. “How long have I been asleep?” I ask him. “You’ve been out for nearly five hours now,” he replies. “How much longer until we get to Blue Haven?” I ask as he runs his fingers through my hair. “In another six hours we should be in front of the castle gates. You should get some rest darling, you really need it,” he replies in a sleepy voice. I give a little nod, and lay my head in Lestat’s lap before falling back to sleep. A few more hours pass as we near the halfway point to the castle, when suddenly a loud howl fills the forest, which wakes Lestat and I from our slumber. “What is it Jeremy?” Lestat asks. “There’s a pack of lycans following us. They must have sniffed out our trail,” Jeremy replies. “We need to get out of here! Is there a different direction we can take to continue our course?” Lestat asks fearfully. “We can cross the river. The water should throw off our scent, at least for a little while,” Jeremy informs us. “Very well, the river it is then! Get us out of this bloody rat trap before they catch up to us,” Lestat shouts. Jeremy gives a little nod before commanding the horses to run faster. “YAW, YAW, YAW,” he shouts as the horses gallop across the river. “Any sign of them?” I ask as Lestat looks out of the back of the coach. “I think we lost them for now. We better keep moving. I know it won’t be long before they catch our scent again,” Lestat points out. Jeremy gives a little nod and informs us that it’s only two more hours before we reach the castle gates. “Get some sleep darling, you need your strength,” he tells me before Jeremy commands the horses to slow down a bit. 

An hour and a half later, a bright light surrounds me, and pain rips through my body waking me from my sleep. I let out a blood curdling yell, and my fairy wings slowly start to faint from a brilliant blue to a very dull gray color, before disappearing altogether and I lose consciousness. “Shelly? SHELLY!? Come on darling, please wake up!” Lestat says fearfully as he rapidly taps me on the cheek, but gets no response. “Hurry, we’re almost there! Surely one of the doctors of Blue Haven can help her,” Lestat commands. “YAW! YAW!” Jeremy tells the horses before reaching the gates of Blue Haven. Upon reaching the gates of the Kingdom, Lestat gently lays my head down on one of the pillows, and jumps out of the carriage. Rushing up to the gates to open them, one of the guards says, “Halt who goes there?” “Tis I, Lestat Lioncourt. I have brought the Queen of Blue Haven with me, and I fear she is near death. She needs a doctor at once!” Lestat replies. “Let him in,” Kristen orders as she nears the gates rubbing her growing belly. Giving a little nod, the guard opens the big iron gates which surrounds the castle, and Jeremy drives the carriage through as Lestat follows. “Whoa” Jeremy says commanding the horses to stop as we approach the doors of the castle. Rushing to the carriage, Lestat scoops me into his arms again. “Show him to her room where he can lay her on the bed, and quickly get the midwife!” Kristen commands the guard. “Yes Majesty,” the guard replies and tells Lestat to follow him. Through the courtyard, and the foyer, Lestat follows the guard up the grand staircase, and into the Queen’s quarters, where he gently lays me on the bed. “So I see that you have finally grown tired of waiting on Mother’s orders to take over Brendlewood,” Kristen says as she enters the room. 

“Sister, we don’t have time for this right now. Can’t you see that She’s dying?” Lestat says worriedly. With a sly smile Kristen replies, “You have got to be kidding, I see some things haven’t changed. You haven’t been with her in two years, and yet you still have feelings for her? She was never worthy of you. We didn’t have any problems with the lycans in two-hundred years…until you brought her to our home!” Turning to Kristen, Lestat says, “What happened with the lycans isn’t her fault! Besides, you have no room to talk sister! What of your little pet Ector? He’s a human, what could you possibly want with him other than food!?” Kristen gives a little laugh and rubs her belly before saying, “Why brother, you taught me everything I know. Such as, how to compel others into doing my bidding, and how to heal those I feed from so I don’t get caught doing so. What makes you think I’m not just using him for food? I could care less about those who aren’t like us. They don’t stand a chance against us. The human and Faery world are both pathetic if you ask me. We can take whatever we want, when we want, and those creatures won’t stand a chance! Although I can say one thing, Ector is a great lover, and so is the king! Sure Shelly’s precious Thatcher put up a fight and didn’t want to cheat on his darling queen, but he saw things my way with a little…compulsion. For mere mortals, I can get used to this.” A look of disgust washes across Lestat’s face before saying, “So…who’s the father of the baby?” Kristen smiles slightly, “Although it’s none of your business, I’ll share my little secret with you. This handsome little prince I’m carrying, is the next heir to this castle. Little brother, I told you one day I would not only have Dragon Valley, but Blue Haven will also be mine! Once I have both kingdoms to do my ill-will, Brendlewood will be next in line! All I have to do is have an heir, and their kingdom will fall. Do you really think that pathetic King Cade will be able to kill his own child? I think not!” Lestat shakes his head, “Sister, you really have gone mad! What has your mother done to you?” “She’s your mother too you know! So I guess this makes us both a little mad, doesn’t it!” Kristen huffs.

“She’s not my mother!” Lestat scoffs. Kristen raises a brow in confusion, before Lestat fills her in on everything his mother had told him. “Why would she do that and claim you to be next in line to the throne?” Kristen asks curiously. “Think about it sister. She wasn’t able to conceive a son of her own, so Father took matters into his own hands, and shared his bed with a noble. Carolin found out about their affair and their son, so she took me and compelled me to forget everything,” he explains. Kristen sighs, “The perfect cover up. I’m so sorry my brother, I had no idea she did that to you.” “Sister, you can make amends with the people of Brendlewood, it’s not too late. Join our side, and help us take down Carolin. Just think, if you help take Carolin out, and with you being next in line to the throne, you will have one of the most powerful realms!” Lestat points out. Kristen ponders for a moment before replying, “You know, you’re right! If we take down my mother, I would be next to rule the kingdom! Alright, I will help you, but you must promise you won’t betray me once this war is over.” Lestat smiles slightly and says, “You have my word.” “Then it is done.” Kristen replies. “Does this mean we free the rat in the dungeon?” Ector says upon entering the room, clearly overhearing everything as he folds his arms. “That is exactly what this means. Cm’on darling, with me ruling Dragon Valley, and Blue Haven as our ally, we will be the most powerful kingdom of all! Now, go on and free the king, and inform him of his queen being ill. Oh..and…um…make sure he’s cleaned up as well,” Kristen tells him. Ector gives a little nod, and exits the room to get Thatcher. 

I awaken in pain as my contractions return, and I let out a yell for help, and Lestat rushes to my side. “Are you alright darling?” he asks. Taking a deep breath, I reply, “The potion has worn off, and the baby is coming.” “UGH! What is taking that midwife so long to get here!” Lestat yells. Kristen quickly opens the door and tells Lady Regina who is dusting the paintings in the hall, “Get Agnes Bennett, and Hurry!” Lady Regina gives a little bow and rushes down the hall to find the midwife as Kristen closes the door. Shortly Agnes arrives, then she and a nurse begin preparing everything for the baby to arrive. “She’s lost alot of blood and is growing very weak. Majesty, do you still have blood bags in the refrigerator in the basement?” Kristen gives a little nod and leaves the room, and within a few moments later, she returns with a blood bag. She then hands it over to the Agnes, who places it into an IV, and hooks another machine onto me to monitor my contractions and the baby’s heartbeat. “There now Majesty, just try to relax while I look to see how far you have dilated,” Agnes tells me. I take a few deep breaths before she looks up at me and says,” You have dilated to 10, your handsome young man is ready to come out and meet you,” she says with a smile. She then counts to 10 and tells me to push, until suddenly she tells me to stop. “I’m afraid your baby needs help being born, and I’ll have to perform surgery,” she tells me. “Then do it. Do what you need to save my baby,” I tell her as tears stream down my cheeks. She then gives a little nod before leading Lestat to the opposite side of the room, away from me. “What is it? What’s wrong?” Lestat asks in a panicking tone. “There isn’t much more I can do for her. I can perform an emergency C-section to save the baby, but she has already suffered a huge amount of blood loss. I’m not sure how much more her body can take before-” the midwife begins, but is lost for words. “Before..what?” Lestat asks hesitantly. “Majesty, I think it’s wise you start preparing yourself for the worst. I fear that she may not be with us much longer. I give it a few days, give or take,” she informs him. Silent tears fall down his cheeks as he tells her to do what she thinks is best. Giving a little bow, she shoo’s the men out of the room while she performs the surgery. 

Three hours later, Agnes exits the room to find Lestat, who is  patiently waiting in the kitchen. Rushing to her, he asks worriedly, “How is she? Can I see her?” “The surgery went well, and she gave birth to a baby boy. However, we had to place him in the ventilator because he was born premature. Shelly is doing as well as to be expected. She is sleeping comfortably, but there is no guarantee that she will wake. You can see her if you chose to do so, but please don’t try to wake her, she needs her rest to gain her strength.” He then gives a little nod before returning to my bedside. Moments later, Thatcher rushes into the room, to find Lestat who is sitting beside my bed, holding my hand as I continue to sleep. “W-what happened?” Thatcher asks worriedly. Lestat explains what Carolin had made him do, and the information his biological mother had given him about his past. “Will she ever get her memories back?” Thatcher asks. Lestat shakes his head, “From what my mother says, she will never get them back. Once the damage is done, it’s done, and there is no going back.” Thatcher raises a brow and points his finger at Lestat, “Everything that happens to our family starts with you! I’m so sick of Dragon Valley, and all of the people in it! I should have you punished for what you did to my wife!” “Not to get in the middle of this little family crisis, but he did save your wife. If it wasn’t for him, Shelly would still be in Carolin’s dungeon,” Jeremy points out as he enters the room. “And just who in the hell are you!?” Thatcher shouts. “I’m a friend. Lestat helped Shelly get away from Carolin and I brought them here,” Jeremy replies. Thatcher’s muscles relax a bit as he sighs, “I guess you’re right, but what was she actually doing there in the first place?” Jeremy then explained that she took off to find him and their daughter. “She felt that the king of Brendlewood wasn’t doing his part in finding you or Juliana,” Jeremy continues to explain. “So all of this happened because of me? Now who’s the jerk in this situation?” Thatcher says as he begins to feel guilty. “Although now isn’t the time, I do believe that a congratulations is in order,” Jeremy adds. Lestat clears his throat before standing, “Yes, um, I’m not even sure if anyone was aware of this, but when Shelly was found, she was with child.” As a look of confusion spreads across Thatcher’s face he says, “With child? Are you sure?” “Your son is in the nursery, and you may see him if you wish. However, I must warn you, Shelly was only six months along when she gave birth, so we don’t really know if he will survive,” Lestat explains. “What did she name him?” Thatcher asks. “Elijah, and if he is anything like his parents, he is a survivor!” Lestat replies before leaving the room. 

 

Eight hours later, Agnes enters the nursery to find Thatcher spending some quality time with his son before tending to his court duties. “Excuse me Majesty, can I speak with you for a moment?” Agnes asks. Thatcher gives her a little nod and tells her that she may speak freely. “I’m sorry to barge in like this, but I have come with some grave news. I’m afraid the Queen is growing weaker by the moment. I really think you should be saying your goodbyes, because I don’t think she will last through the night,” Agnes informs him. Tears stream down Thatcher’s cheeks as he says, “Are you sure about this? Shelly is a very strong woman, and has come back from something similar before.” Agnes places a hand on Thatcher’s shoulder before saying, “Her Majesty has internal bleeding from the birth of your son, and is very dehydrated. I have done everything I can to save her, but she’s not responding to treatment.” “Thank you Agnes. I’ll just finish up here before I see her,” Thatcher replies. A few moments later, Thatcher enters Shelly’s chambers and holds her hand, “Please don’t leave me my love. You are everything that is pure. Your kindness, and thoughtfulness has touched so many, please don’t go,” he begs her. Thatcher then looks to the heavens and prays, “God have mercy, please don’t take her! She’s all that I have, and my daughter and son need their mother,” he begs. 

Lestat gives a gentle knock before entering the room and says, “I’m sorry Majesty, but I couldn’t help but overhear Agnes say that she couldn’t do anymore to help Shelly. I however can do something to keep her alive, and she can remain with you and your children.” Thatcher gives Lestat a puzzled look before he asks, “How can you help? Don’t you think that your family has done enough!?” “Ah, but they aren’t my family. I’m offering you to be able to spend the rest of your life with your wife, and she will gain her strength back. She can be there for you and your children, and they won’t lose their mother,” Lestat explains. “Y-You mean you can turn her?” Thatcher asks hesitantly. Lestat smiles before replying, “Not turn her, but if she drinks my blood, it can heal her. Just watch over her for the next 48 hours, if she dies with vampire blood in her system, she will turn.” Thatcher gives a little nod, “If it will help her, then do it! I can’t just sit back and watch her die, her children need her… I need her. Please do what you can to help my wife.” In a flash, Lestat appears at Shelly’s side and pulls a small vile from his inside pocket. “What are you doing? Surely you don’t think your blood will help her in this state!” Kristen snarls as she enters the room. “Our blood heals others, and this is the chance I’m willing to take. If it can help her so she can be with her children, then so be it! She has been through enough!” Lestat says as he tilts the vial to Shelly’s mouth to help her drink his blood. “You do know that if she dies with that in her system she’ll turn?” Kristen points out. “I’m fully aware of what will happen, but I don’t care. She has to live. Not just for her son, but for Juliana and Thatcher as well,” Lestat replies. Once the tiny vial empties into Shelly’s mouth and she slowly swallows the thick, red liquid, Lestat stands back to see if there are any signs that his blood is helping her in any way. 

Two hours later, Shelly opens her eyes as Thatcher smiles widely with tears streaming down his cheeks. “Darling I’m here. I’m right here, can you hear me?” Thatcher asks worriedly. “My love?” I reply, managing to get out as I take a deep breath. Thatcher squeezes my hand and says, “Thank God!” before my body shakes violently and I lose consciousness. Within a flash, Lestat’s at my bedside checking for a pulse. “Sh-she doesn’t have a pulse!” Lestat says fearfully. “Told you it wouldn’t work! You moron! Why will no one ever listen to me?” Kristen scoffs. Lestat rushes to the door and flings it open to find Lady Margaret. “Quick, get the doctor!” Lestat tells her before rushing back to my bedside to find Thatcher crying hysterically. “There has to be something you can do! Please save her….save my darling queen” Thatcher begs. Lestat gives a little nod before performing chest compressions. After a few moments, Lestat stops to check for a pulse. He smiles widely while glancing back at Thatcher, “She has a pulse! She’s back!” Thatcher places a hand on Lestat’s shoulder before saying, “You don’t know how grateful I am. I didn’t think very highly of you before, but this changes everything. I am forever in your debt.”

“Oh for heaven sake! If you want something done, then you do it yourself!” Kristen says slyly. Within a flash, Kristen appears at Shelly’s bedside, and plunges her dagger through Shelly’s heart. “No!” Lestat shouts and shoves Kristen away from her. “What have you done! Just when I thought I was getting through to you, you go and pull a stunt like this!” Lestat shouts as he pins Kristen to the wall by her throat. “Do you really think they would side with us against my mother? If you thought for a split second they would trust us, or be your best friend, then you are the one who is mad! For centuries, it has always been the humans who have hunted us down, one by one, and killed us. It is their wizards who have created the lycans!” Kristen shouts. “What are you talking about?” Lestat snarls. “The humans gathered wizards and witches to create the lycans. One lycan bite is fatal to vampires, and there is no cure! Humans aren’t strong enough to win in a fight against our kind. Our ancestors were killed because of the human race! Don’t you find it funny how an elder vampire suddenly grows old and dies? We can’t get sick, nor can we grow as old as the former King of Stone Ridge. Something or someone killed him, it’s not possible for a vampire to die, other than sunlight, cutting off their head, or with a stake through the heart,” Kristen explains. Slowly loosening his grip, he lets Kristen go, “Just how do I know you aren’t lying?” he asks. “If you don’t believe me, ask the king himself. I’m sure he would be more then willing to speak if you compelled him to do so,” Kristen replies. Turning his attention towards Thatcher  Lestat asks, “Do you know about any of this?”  Thatcher glances down at the floor, then back at Lestat before saying, “I…don’t know what you’re talking about.” In a flash, Lestat’s standing in front of Thatcher’s chair glaring down at him, “Trust me, the last couple of days have been VERY, VERY bad for me, don’t MAKE me ask you again!” 

Thatcher sighs before replying, “My father wasn’t just the king of Blue Haven, he was also a hunter, along with his father and grandfather before him. He was teaching me how to hunt your kind before Carolin took down Blue Haven and killed him and my mother. A lycan grabbed me as I was trying to escape from the war on Blue Haven and turned me. Not to worry though, thanks to an enchantress in Brendlewood, I’m no longer a monster. However, just like you, I also craved blood. I found myself hunting down humans and faery’s, but I was able to control myself and hunt animals instead. Once in wolf form, it’s very hard to contain the cravings for human and faery blood, but I was able to do so.” Lestat ponders for a moment before asking, “So you mean to tell me that this war between the humans and vampires all started with your ancestors?” “Sadly, it is so. Three hundred years ago, my ancestors used to use the vampires to protect them. I guess you can say the vampires were our guardians, that is until a vampire fell in love with the king’s daughter. My great, great, great, great grandfather found out his little princess was with child by a vampire, and killed them both, thus started the war between vampires and humans,” Thatcher explains. “How did the Fae get in the middle of this exactly?” Lestat asks. “A king and queen of the Fae brought their child to see a wizard after she was attacked by a lycan, and the only way to save her was to turn her into a faery hybrid, and in return, their daughter was to marry a vampire to keep the peace. When the princess became of age, she married a vampire prince named Richard, and they had a daughter who was born a faery hybrid. Since the day of her birth, the vampires and lycans have been after her for her powers. They both want her blood for different reasons. Faery blood makes both creatures stronger, but strength isn’t all the lycans are after. They also need her blood to be able to turn at will, which means the moon will no longer hold it’s power over them,” Thatcher replies. 

Gasping at what he had just heard, Lestat says, “I know of this faery of whom you speak.” Thatcher raises a brow in confusion and says, “Who is she and where can we find her? We must protect her at all costs!” “She’s lying there, not two feet from you. However, when she wakes, she will be in transition, and once she turns, she will be useless to the lycans, but we do still have a problem.” Leaning forward in his chair Thatcher says, “Other than my wife turning into one of the creatures I have hated my entire life, what other problem can we possibly have?” “As I was carrying Shelly out of the throne room in Dragon Valley, I couldn’t help but overhear Carolin speaking with her witch, Morgana. She was telling Carolin that she had more than enough of Shelly’s blood to create more moon rings for the lycans. If she made those rings, I’m afraid we’re all in very grave danger, because the lycans will not only be stronger, but they can change at will. So you see, the wolves are only agreeing to join Carolin’s army because she has the rings, and so long as they join her, they can have one.” Lestat explains. Thatcher runs his fingers through his hair before saying, “How do I know you aren’t lying? After everything you have done, I certainly don’t trust you!” “You really don’t know if I’m lying, but if you wish to find out, we can always just wait around to see what Carolin has in store for us. Or you can go ahead and send word to Brendlewood about this new information,” Lestat replies. “Alright, I’m gonna send word to King Cade, and hopefully he can gather some men to hunt around his kingdom to see what he can find, and find out if what you’re telling me is true. If I find out you have made this whole thing up, you will meet your death. Are we clear?” Thatcher says. “Yes Majesty, we’re perfectly clear,” Lestat replies. Thatcher then exits the room and finds Lady Margaret who is heading to Shelly’s quarters . “Majesty,” she says as she gives a little bow. “Lady Margaret, please send for the messenger to meet me in my study. Tell him it’s very important he does so.” Thatcher tells her. “Yes Majesty,” she replies before giving a little curtsy and heads off to find him. 

Strolling through the halls of the lower corridors of the castle, Thatcher enters his study to find the messenger waiting for him. “Majesty, how can I be at your service?” Messenger Adam asks as he bows. “I need you to take this letter to Brendlewood, and make sure you place it into the hands of no other than King Cade himself” Thatcher demands. “Yes, Majesty” Adam replies as he accepts the letter from Thatcher’s hand and exits the room. Thatcher then sits at his desk as a blood curdling scream fills the halls, and echoes into his study and interrupts his thoughts. “What in the world?” He thinks to himself. Rushing through the candle lit halls of the castle, he suddenly comes to a halt as he notices Lady Margaret who is standing right outside of the broom closet. “What on earth is the matter?” he asks worriedly. “I-I was heading into the broom closet, and when I tried to open the door it was locked, which I thought was rather odd. I then used the key to open it-” she begins but loses her train of thought when Thatcher reaches for the door knob. To his surprise, the door flings open, and out steps Alex and Thistle, with their clothes undone and Thistle’s hair lays  a frazzled mess along her shoulders. Thistle gives a little shy wave, while Alex tries to smooth back his disheveled hair. Thatcher shakes his head, “Alex! Have you no shame!? Of all the places….There are tons of bedrooms in this castle, and you have to pick the broom closet!” “I really didn’t think it would be that big of a deal,” Alex says calmly as he gives Thistle a little wink. “Not that big of a deal!? UGH! Never mind. Off be with you before I change my mind!” Thatcher says angrily. Alex and Thistle give a little nod before leaving the room. No sooner do the two love birds leave the room, a scream for help echoes throughout the halls. “Oh for heaven sake! NOW what!? Can a man not get some peace and quiet in his own castle?” Thatcher says as the maid gives him a look of “what the hell is wrong with you” before rushing up the grand staircase. 

Upon entering the third floor of the castle, Thatcher and Lady Margaret follow the sounds of the screams coming from down the hall, where they find Kristen bracing herself on one of the tables just outside of her room. “What is it?” Thatcher asks. Turning to Thatcher, Kristen says, “I’m in labor, you idiot! Get Agnes! Quick!” Lady Margaret gives a little bow before rushing back down the hall. “Is there something I can do?” Thatcher asks apologetically. “Yeah, you can start by keeping that thing of yours in your pants!” Kristen snarls. Thatcher raises a brow in confusion before Kristen continues, “Never mind. You can help me to the bed for starters, and get Ector for me. I’m sure he wants to be here for this.” Thatcher then helps Kristen to her bed before asking, “Are you sure you will be alright here by yourself in your fragile state?” Jerking her arm from Thatcher’s grasp, she says, “I’ll be fine! Just get Ector!” Thatcher gives a little nod before exiting the room to find his cousin. “What in the world does he possibly see in that creature? Surely he’s not in love with her. After all, we were taught to hunt them, not fall in love and have families with them” he thinks to himself. As he rounds the corner of the first floor, which leads into the grand hall, he can’t help but to hear the sound of the piano playing. “Now who would be playing the piano at this time of the night?” he wonders. 

 

As he enters the grand hall, he notices Ector who is playing the piano. He stands behind his cousin, watching him play until he’s finished. Folding the fall-board over the keys of the piano, he turns to find Thatcher standing right behind him. “Oh my! I mean, I didn’t know I had anyone listening” Ector says shockingly. “I…didn’t know you played so wonderfully. In fact, I didn’t know you played at all” Thatcher says. “There’s alot of things you don’t know about me cousin, and I know you didn’t just come in here for a drink. I’m sorry to hear about Shelly. Kristen can be evil at times, but there is a good side to her as well,” Ector tells him as he takes a drink from his whiskey. “Yes…well… Kristen asked that I find you and bring you to her. She’s in labor, and she wants you there” Thatcher informs him. “You’re the one who should be there with her, not me,” Ector mumbles to himself. “I didn’t quite catch that, can you repeat that?” Thatcher asks. “I said, lead the way, and I’ll follow you” Ector replies. Thatcher gives a little nod and leads Ector to Kristen’s room. “Now Majesty, I need you to push” Agnes tells Kristen. “The hell with pushing! This baby will remain in my womb until my fiance gets his rear end in here!” Kristen snarls. “I’m here. Darling, I’m right here” Ector says sweetly as he takes Kristen’s hand. “Thank goodness! Her Majesty has been nothing but rude and just pure mean. Two of my nurses had to leave the room, because she kicked one and bit the other. If her Majesty ever has another child, you will simply have to find another midwife for the job, because I refuse to have her for a patient!” Agnes tells Ector. Kristen shoots Agnes a “Just wait until I get you alone” look before telling her she’s ready to cooperate. 

The nurse checks Kristen’s vitals and tells her to begin pushing, while Lady Regina places a cool towel over Kristen’s forehead and soothingly says, “It won’t be long until your precious little bundle will be here.” Agnes then helps Kristen out of her gown before getting into position, and tells her to “Push, push, push!” Kristen braces herself while she screams out in pain. As she gives one good strong push, the nurse exclaims, “That’s it Majesty, your little man is almost here! Another big push like that, and we will welcome your little one into the world!” Ector smiles at Kristen, but see’s that she’s becoming very tired as he squeezes her hand, “Come on darling, you can do this. Just focus on your breathing, and we’ll see our little prince in a matter of no time at all.” “The hell with my breathing! You have the easy part, just sitting there and holding my hand, and telling me everything’s going to be ok. Why don’t you just trade places with me and see just how EASY it really is huh?” Ector gives Kristen an apologetic look as another contraction gets her to focus her attention back on Agnes. “Alright Majesty, one more big push now, and your little one will be free from your womb” Agnes tells her. Kristen gives a little nod and struggles to give another big push. She puts all of her strength into it, and within a few moments, a tiny cry comes from a tiny baby. “It’s a boy!” Agnes calls out as she removes the umbilical cord from him and hands him over to the nurse who cleans him up. Wrapping him up in a warm blue blanket, the nurse then hands him over to Kristen. “What a strapping young lad! What shall we name him?” Ector asks. Kristen smiles sweetly before saying, “I think I’ll name him Alistair, named after the previous king of Blue Haven.” 

 

“Just why would you name your child after my father?” Thatcher asks curiously upon entering the room. “I knew your father very well, and I think it fits considering my son was born here in Blue Haven. Not to mention, that Ector and I are engaged” Kristen replies. “Just great! That’s exactly what we need, is for one of you creatures to reside here, and marry into the family!” Thatcher scoffs as he exits the room. “He’ll come around darling, you’ll see,” Ector says as he runs his fingers through Kristen’s hair. “Sweetheart, would you be a dear, and send for Alex and Thistle. I would like to have a word with them” Kristen asks. “Of course darling. What should I tell them this is all about?” Ector asks curiously. “You can tell them I would love to make them both God parents of little Alistair here. I’m sure they will love the idea of being Godparents to our little boy” Kristen smiles. Ector then agrees, and kisses Kristen’s forehead before heading off to find Alex and Thistle. A few moments later, just after hearing the news of Kristen giving birth, Lestat enters the room, followed by Ector, Alex, and Thistle. “Oh Kristen, he’s so tiny and precious! A very handsome young prince indeed!” Thistle exclaims. As everyone is in awe, the nurse returns to Kristen’s bedside, “Sorry to interrupt, but I’m need’n to clean and stitch her Majesty up” Nurse Mildred says. As the group gives the nurse a little room. Nurse Mildred lifts up the sheets before sighing, ” Oy a mud butt.” Lestat and Ector glance over at the nurse as she’s holding a small log with a cloth. Immediately a look of disgust washes over their faces, for Kristen had pooed herself while she was giving birth. “Is that what I think it is?” Ector asks the nurse. Nurse Mildred shrugs before saying, “Pooing while giving birth is quite common. You two should try carrying a watermelon between your legs and see if you wouldn’t poop while pushing an eight pound being out,” she says as she finishes up with Kristen.

A few awkward moments of silence spreads across the room before Alex says, “So…uh…you wanted to see us?” “Yes. Please, come sit” Kristen says pointing to two chairs by her bedside. I would like to know how you two would feel about becoming little Alistair’s Godparents?” Kristen asks. “I…I mean we would be honored, but why choose us? I’m sure you have royals who are higher up in rank who would be more trustworthy,” Thistle replies. Kristen shakes her head, “There is no one else who I would trust and who are more loyal to me than the two of you.” Alex smiles widely before saying, “Then we’ll gladly be his Godparents!” A tear spills from Kristen’s eye as she says, “Then I have one more thing that I need you to do for me.” “W-What is it?” Thistle asks curiously. “I need you to take my son and hide him, and raise him as your own. If something happens to me, the Fae and the humans will surely kill him. I want him to live a long happy life, but don’t let him live his life without knowing who I am, and make sure to tell him that I loved him so much, that I had to make sure he was safe in good hands” Kristen explains. “We can’t do this. I mean we know nothing about taking care of a baby,” Thistle says. “But, we can try. She’s right about the Fae and the humans wanting to kill the baby. They won’t take any chances on him turning on them when he gets older,” Alex explains to Thistle. “Which is why I need you two to do this for me. They will never suspect the two of you would be raising my child. Thistle, you are stronger than what you think. You can use magic to hide yourselves and to make sure you are never found. Alex, you know how to wield a sword and to protect yourself from harms way. I trust you two more than I trust anyone, including my own father. He would turn his back on me the first chance he would get. Please say you will do this for me?” Kristen pleas. Alex gives a little nod before saying, “Alright, we’ll do it. I can’t see any harm coming to a harmless little baby. You have our word that he will be safe, but there is something I would like to do before we leave our home.” “What is it? Kristen asks curiously. Alex leans in and whispers in Kristen’s ear, “I would like to make Thistle my wife.” Kristen smiles sweetly and whispers in return, “Then do it. We can prepare for the preparations at once if you so wish.” 

Thistle who is looking quite confused asks what’s going on before Alex rises from his seat. “Thistle, I have been carrying this around for the past few weeks not knowing exactly how I was going to ask you this, and frankly I’m still pretty nervous about asking you” Alex begins before Thistle rises from her seat in confusion, “W-What do you want to ask me, and what has you so scared?” Alex then takes a knee before reaching into his pocket and pulls out a small black box. With trembling hands, Alex says, “I have searched for many years for a woman like you, and I finally found you. Thistle, will you make me the luckiest man alive, and be my wife?” Thistle places a hand over her mouth, in shock not knowing exactly what to say. She looks deep into his eyes, and she can see how deep his love runs for her. “there is one condition though. I don’t want to marry you as Thistle, I want to marry you  as Sheila Mills. Tears stream down her rosie cheeks before shouting, “YES!” Alex then places the diamond engagement ring upon her ring finger, and hugs her tightly, “I love you Sheila, always have, always will,” he tells her. “I love you too,” she says in return. “Wonderful! We can start the preparations at once!” Kristen says joyfully. “Actually, I would like a more private wedding if you don’t mind. You see I don’t have many friends other than yourself and Ector, and I highly doubt that any of the others will come to our wedding. Besides, I don’t do well crowds anyways,”Thistle says. Kristen gives a little nod before saying, “As you wish. I can send for the priest and have him meet you in the royal garden if you wish.” As Thistle smiles widely, and thanks Kristen for all she has done for her, and she and Alex make their way to meet the priest in the garden before taking little Alistair into hiding.

After Alex and Thistle leave Blue Haven, the trumpets blare the royal fanfare, and the guards announce the arrival of Princess Melina and Tristan. Thatcher pulls Melina into a gentle hug before asking curiously, “Just who is the young man that’s with you? He’s not one of them is he?” “It’s a long story, and no, he isn’t one of them” she replies. Thatcher gives a little nod before filling Melina on everything that has happened since he was taken by the lycans. Gasping Melina says, “My poor mother! Can I see her?” “I don’t see why not, only she’s still lying on her bed in a lifeless state. I’m only giving her a few more hours to show some kind of sign that she’s coming back to us. You’re baby brother Elijah, is in the nursery if you would like to see him” Thatcher replies. Melina raises a brow in confusion before asking, “My mother was with child? How is it even possible that she wasn’t showing any signs of pregnancy?” Thatcher shrugs, “The doctor doesn’t know for sure, but she’s pretty sure your mother had no idea she was with child before taking her journey to Dragon Valley. Cm’on and I’ll take you to see your mother.” “I wouldn’t do that if I were you,” Lestat calls out from behind them. “Why not? I have journeyed a long way to find her. If she doesn’t regain consciousness, I would at least like to say goodbye,” Melina replies with tears in her eyes. Lestat shakes his head, “You don’t get it do you? Thanks to my lovely sister, she will come back to us, but not as a human or faery. If she should wake while you’re sitting at her bedside, you could very well be her first meal.” “Y-You mean…she’ll be just like you?” Melina asks hesitantly. Lestat gives a little nod, “Yes, she will come back a vampire. I would never keep you and your mother apart, but in this case it’s for your own safety.” “Is my brother a vampire too?” Melina asks. “No. Elijah took after Thatcher, and is completely human. You’re more than welcome to visit with him if you would like,” Lestat tells her. “Alright, I’ll visit with him, but I want to be informed as soon as there are any changes with my mother,” Melina replies. Lestat gives a little nod, before Melina heads to the nursery. 

5 thoughts on “Chapter – 67

  1. Maybe you would like to welcome Alistair, but Thatcher sure isn’t happy about it lol. He doesn’t want any vampires or Lycans in his kingdom, I’m very certain he won’t be very happy when he finds out little Alistair is his son. Thank You for reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment